kollektiv vier – Mirjam Huwiler, Eva Zuberbühler and Johanna Widmer. Photo by Gian Marco Castelberg

About

Hi

We are Eva, Johanna and Mirjam. Together we form kollektiv vier, a Swiss design studio for textile and surface design. We develop interior products and concepts.

Travel without leaving

"Travel without leaving" is the core of our design philosophy. With our designs we tell stories that fill our customers with their own thoughts and dreams. They lead you into new worlds while showering and let your everyday life end in adventurous excursions. Our focus is on textile products for the bathroom. A space where you spend precious time with yourself. A private wellness oasis - giving it a new life is our mission. 

 

Our history

Since 2014 we have been working together as kollektiv vier. We got to know each other during our textile design studies at the HSLU Design & Kunst in Lucerne. That is when we discovered the valuable synergies of our cooperation, which are formed by the exchange of thoughts and creativity. The results  electrify us and a new handwriting emerges, which is not that of Eva, Mirjam nor Johanna, but the handwriting of kollektiv vier.

Garten Eden are printing.

 

Production

The base of the design process of kollektiv vier is teamwork. Six hands work on the same design and three heads think in different ways towards the same goal. An approach that we have discovered for ourselves. It is the driving force behind our work and leads us to a precise result.

We consciously choose sensible materials. One example of this is the materiality of our shower curtains. The biological cotton feels pleasant on the skin and guarantees a water-repellent function due to the coating.

We consciously choose the manufacturing technique and include its possibilities as a design element in the development process. An example of this is the relief effect, which we explore to the limit of technical feasibility when designing terry towels. 

It is important to us that the products are manufactured to a high quality so that they become long-lasting companions. We carefully select our partners. Our aim is to produce as locally as possible, taking into account economic and qualitative arguments. 

Studio of kollektiv vier. Photo by Thomas Kunz

Studio and correspondence address

kollektiv vier design studio GmbH

Hofackerstrasse 13

8032 Zürich

Showroom at schön & recht

Geroldstrasse 31
8005 Zurich

Awards / Grants

2018 Production grant "INSIGHT bath collection" / Pro Helvetia

2018 Project grant "Swiss Cultural Consulat Copenhagen" / Kulturfond Appenzell Ausserrhoden

2017 Project expansion grant "Product line collective four" / Pro Helvetia

2016 Project grant "Darling, it's summer" / IKEA Foundation Switzerland

2015 Project grant "Viva la doccia" / IKEA Foundation Switzerland

2014 Design Angel "collective four" / Pro Helvetia

All shops that sell our products can be found here.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
NEWSLETTER 
0

kollektiv vier – Eva Zuberbühler, Johanna Widmer und Mirjam Huwiler. Foto / Bild: Lea Moser

Über Uns

Hallo

Wir sind Eva, Johanna und Mirjam. Gemeinsam bilden wir kollektiv vier, ein Schweizer Designstudio für Textil- und Flächendesign. Wir entwickeln Produkte und Konzepte für den Raum.

Travel without leaving

«Travel without leaving» ist der Kern unserer Designphilosophie. Mit unseren Designs erzählen wir Geschichten, die unsere KundInnen mit ihren eigenen Gedanken und Träumen füllen. Sie entführen beim Duschen in neue Welten und lassen den Alltag in abenteuerlichen Exkursionen enden. Unser Fokus liegt auf textilen Produkten für das Bad. Ein Rückzugsort, an dem man kostbare Zeit mit sich selbst verbringt. Eine private Wellnessoase - diese zu beleben ist unsere Mission. 

 

Unsere Geschichte

Seit 2014 arbeiten wir gemeinsam als kollektiv vier. Wir lernten uns im Textildesign Studium an der HSLU Design & Kunst in Luzern kennen. Da entdeckten wir die wertvollen Synergien unserer Zusammenarbeit, die sich durch den Austausch von Gedanken und Kreativität bilden. Sie elektrisieren uns und es entsteht eine neue Handschrift, welche nicht diejenige von Eva, Mirjam oder Johannas ist, sondern die Handschrift von kollektiv vier.

Garten Eden wird gedruckt.

 

Herstellung

Die Basis des Designprozesses von kollektiv vier ist die Zusammenarbeit im Team. Sechs Hände arbeiten am gleichen Entwurf und drei Köpfe denken auf unterschiedliche Weise hin zum gleichen Ziel. Ein Ansatz, den wir für uns entdeckt haben. Diese Design- und Arbeitsstrategie führt zu erstaunlichen Ergebnissen und bricht eigene Strukturen. Sie ist die treibende Kraft hinter unserer Arbeit und führt uns zu einem präzisen Ergebnis.

Wir entscheiden uns bewusst für sinnvolle Materialien. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Materialität unserer Duschvorhänge. Die biologische Baumwolle fühlt sich angenehm auf der Haut an und gewährleistet durch die Beschichtung eine wasserabweisende Funktion.

Die Herstellungstechnik wählen wir bewusst und ihre Möglichkeiten beziehen wir als Gestaltungselement in den Entwicklungsprozess ein. Ein Beispiel dafür ist der Reliefeffekt, den wir für die Gestaltung der Frottierwäsche bis an die Grenze der technischen Möglichkeit ausloten. 

Es ist uns ein Anliegen, dass die Produkte qualitativ hochwertig hergestellt sind, so dass sie langjährige BegleiterInnen werden. Wir wählen unsere PartnerInnen sorgfältig aus. Unser Ziel ist es, unter Berücksichtigung ökonomischer und qualitativer Argumente so lokal wie möglich zu produzieren. 

Atelier von kollektiv vier. Bild: Thomas Kunz

Studio- und Korrespondenzadresse

kollektiv vier design studio GmbH

Hofackerstrasse 13

8032 Zürich

Showroom

Geroldstrasse 31

8005 Zürich

 

Auszeichnungen / Unterstützungen

2018 Produktionsbeitrag «INSIGHT bath collection» / Pro Helvetia

2018 Projektbeitrag «Swiss Cultural Consulat Copenhagen» /  Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden

2017 Projekterweiterung «Produktlinie kollektiv vier» / Pro Helvetia

2016 Projektbeitrag «Liebling, es ist Sommer» / IKEA Stiftung Schweiz

2015 Projektbeitrag «Viva la doccia» / IKEA Stiftung Schweiz

2014 Design Angel «kollektiv vier» / Pro Helvetia

Alle Läden, die unsere Produkte verkaufen finden sie hier.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • kollektiv vier auf Instagram
  • kollektiv vier auf facebook
Newsletter
0